كلمة أولى

العدالة قادمة: وداعا للسنة المروعة


الليلة الماضية، قال الشعب السوري وداعًا لعام 2018. لم يكن عامًا جيدًا على الإطلاق. ففي هذا العام، وسّع النظام سلطته على المنطقة الجنوبية ومنطقة الغوطة الشرقية، في حملة تركت الكثير أرضا يبابا وأدت إلى مقتل الآلاف من السوريين وتشريد عشرات الآلاف. في 19 شباط/فبراير، قامت قوات الجيش السوري المدعومة بالطائرات الحربية الروسية بتصعيد الهجوم على الغوطة الشرقية، مما أسفر عن مقتل مئات الأشخاص في غضون أيام. في 25 شباط/فبراير، شنت قوات الجيش السوري هجومًا بريًا لاستعادة السيطرة على المنطقة. في 9 مارس / آذار، تم إجلاء مقاتلين من مجموعة استبعدت في قرار الأمم المتحدة لوقف إطلاق النار من الغوطة الشرقية إلى مناطق أخرى في سوريا خاضعة لسيطرة المعارضة. بحلول 8 نيسان/أبريل، وافقت جميع جماعات المعارضة في الغوطة الشرقية على الإخلاء. في 12 نيسان/ابريل، أُعلن النظام البربري في دمشق سيطرته على كامل الغوطة الشرقية وبدأ التنكيل بمن بقي من أهلها، بعد أن استخدم من جديد الأسلحة الكيمياوية ضدّ أهلها.

01 / كانون الثاني / يناير / 2019


العدالة قادمة: وداعا للسنة المروعة

 

 

*وائل السوّاح – مع العدالة

 

 

الليلة الماضية، قال الشعب السوري وداعًا لعام 2018. لم يكن عامًا جيدًا على الإطلاق. ففي هذا العام، وسّع النظام سلطته على المنطقة الجنوبية ومنطقة الغوطة الشرقية، في حملة تركت الكثير أرضا يبابا وأدت إلى مقتل الآلاف من السوريين وتشريد عشرات الآلاف.

في 19 شباط/فبراير، قامت قوات الجيش السوري المدعومة بالطائرات الحربية الروسية بتصعيد الهجوم على الغوطة الشرقية، مما أسفر عن مقتل مئات الأشخاص في غضون أيام. في 25 شباط/فبراير، شنت قوات الجيش السوري هجومًا بريًا لاستعادة السيطرة على المنطقة. في 9 مارس / آذار، تم إجلاء مقاتلين من مجموعة استبعدت في قرار الأمم المتحدة لوقف إطلاق النار من الغوطة الشرقية إلى مناطق أخرى في سوريا خاضعة لسيطرة المعارضة. بحلول 8 نيسان/أبريل، وافقت جميع جماعات المعارضة في الغوطة الشرقية على الإخلاء. في 12 نيسان/ابريل، أُعلن النظام البربري في دمشق سيطرته على كامل الغوطة الشرقية وبدأ التنكيل بمن بقي من أهلها، بعد أن استخدم من جديد الأسلحة الكيمياوية ضدّ أهلها.

 

تمكن نظام الأسد، الذي أصبح دمية بيد الاحتلال الروسي، من استعادة السيطرة على جزء كبير من البلاد. في الوقت الذي عزز فيه حلفاء الأسد دعمهم له، فإن أصدقاء الشعب السوري المفترضين تركوا المسألة وتخلّوا عن السوريين، لكي يواجهوا وحدهم قوات النظام وروسي وإيران، بكل ميليشياتهم.

 

ومع ذلك، لا يمكن مقارنة ذلك مع الخطوة التي أعلن عنها الرئيس دونالد ترامب في وقت سابق من كانون الأول/ديسمبر: سحاب قواته من سوريا والتخلي عن السوريين بشكل عام. لقد استخدم الأكراد السوريين كصانع بطاقات محترف يستخدم الجوكر للفوز بالمباراة، قبل رميها جانباً، وجمع أمواله وتركها.

ولم ينته العام دون حصول الدكتاتور السوري على هدايا مجانية. فقد قام نظيره السوداني عمر البشير نظيره الأسد بزيارة له، وأعادت الإمارات العربية المتحدة والبحرين فتح سفارتيهما في دمشق. ويقال إن الرئيس الجزائري المريض يحاول الضغط على تونس لدعوة بشار الأسد لحضور قمة جامعة الدول العربية للاجتماع في الدولة الواقعة في شمال أفريقيا في مطلع العام الوليد. وصل إلى القاهرة رئيس مكتب الأمن الوطني السوري والمجرم الرئيسي في قطاع الأمن السوري، اللواء علي مملوك. ويسعى الأردن أيضًا إلى استعادة علاقاته مع سوريا، الأمر الذي أدى إلى تعزيز المكاسب العسكرية السورية التي ضمنت حدودهما المشتركة. زار وفد برلماني أردني العاصمة السورية في الآونة الأخيرة وعاد برسالة من الرئيس الأسد إلى الملك عبد الله الثاني. تتراكم الدلائل على أن البلدين يقومان بتطبيع العلاقات تدريجياً.

لم يظهر السوريون أي عاطفة تجاه عام 2018 وهو يرحل عنا. وليس لديهم خيار آخر سوى أن يكونوا متفائلين بالعام الجديد، على الرغم من عدم وجود أدلّة كافية على أنه سيكون أفضل. ولكن ثمة شيئا واحدا مؤكد: إن الجرائم ضد الإنسانية لا تخضع لقانون التقادم. وبغض النظر عن المدة التي سيستغرقها الأمر، سيأتي يوم وسنقدم كبار المرتكبين إلى العدالة.

.

.

Foreword

A Farewell to a Dreadful Year


Last night, the Syrian people said good-bye to 2018. It was not a good year at all. In this year, the regime extended its power over the Southern region and the Eastern Ghouta region, which left much of it in rubles and led to the killing of thousands of Syrians and the displacement of dozens of thousands. On February 19, Syrian army forces backed by Russian warplanes escalated the offensive on Eastern Ghouta, killing hundreds of people within days. On February 25, the Syrian army forces launched a ground offensive to retake control of the area. On March 9, fighters from a group excluded in the UN ceasefire resolution were evacuated from Eastern Ghouta to other areas in Syria under opposition control. By April 8, all opposition groups in Eastern Ghouta agreed to evacuate. On April 12, all of Eastern Ghouta was declared under the control of the Syrian army, and Russian military police patrols.

January 1, 2019


A Farewell to a Dreadful Year

Wael Sawah – Pro-justice

Last night, the Syrian people said good-bye to 2018. It was not a good year at all. In this year, the regime extended its power over the Southern region and the Eastern Ghouta region, which left much of it in rubles and led to the killing of thousands of Syrians and the displacement of dozens of thousands.

On February 19, Syrian army forces backed by Russian warplanes escalated the offensive on Eastern Ghouta, killing hundreds of people within days. On February 25, the Syrian army forces launched a ground offensive to retake control of the area. On March 9, fighters from a group excluded in the UN ceasefire resolution were evacuated from Eastern Ghouta to other areas in Syria under opposition control. By April 8, all opposition groups in Eastern Ghouta agreed to evacuate. On April 12, all of Eastern Ghouta was declared under the control of the Syrian army, and Russian military police patrols.

The Assad regime, which has become a puppet of the Russian occupation, managed to retrieve control over much of the country. He used the chemical weapons over and over in 2018. While Assad’s allies strengthened their support to hit, the Syrian people (supposedly) allies were quitting and leaving the Syrians alone face the regime, the Russian, and the Iranian forces with all their militias.

However, nothing can be compared to the move that President Donald Trump announced earlier in December: the withdrawal of his forces from Syria, the abandonment of Syrians in general, and the Kurds in northeastern Syria in particular. He used the Syrian Kurds as a professional card player uses the joker to win a game, before throwing it aside, collecting his money, and leaving.

The year did not end without a shower of gifts to Syria’s dictator. Assad Sudanese counterpart Omar Bashir paid him a visit, The UAE and Bahrain reopened their embassies in Damascus. The ailing Algerian president is reportedly pressuring Tunisia to invite Syrian President Bashar Al-Assad to the Arab League summit to convene in the North African country early next year.  Head of Syria’s National Security Bureau and the leading criminal in the Syrian security sector, Maj. Gen. Ali Mamlouk, arrived in Cairo. And Jordan was also seeking to restore its ties with Syria, putting it down to Syria’s military gains that have secured their common border. A Jordanian parliamentary delegation had recently visited the Syrian capital and taken back a message from President Assad to King Abdullah II. Signs are accumulating that the two countries are normalizing ties gradually.

The Syrians did not show any affection to 2018 on its departure. They have no other option but to be optimistic with the 2019, although there is little evidence that it will be any better. One sure thing though: crimes against humanity do not have a statute of limitation. No matter how long it will take, a day will come and we will bring the major culprits to justice.